My boy is going to be eight years old in about two weeks. Although when he was younger he was quite the heavy napper, I’ve known him to be completely wiped out fairly infrequently. It just doesn’t happen. I always giggle internally when people tell me that he’ll be worn out and fall asleep as soon as he comes home, after a day of heavy play. This is hardly ever the case. He goes to sleep because he’s told to, not because he desires to.

So imagine my surprise when my friend Tanja and I came home from an evening out to find The Boy asleep. Passed out. Oblivious to the world. I had to look at him twice to make sure he wasn’t faking it, because really it’s just not like him to be tired.

I’m not quite sure if it was the lack of sleep last night due to his sleepover, the outing to the swimming pool today, or his soccer game, or a combination of the three, but after his soccer game he asked me if we could please skip the Killeen Festival and head home. Poor kid was ready to veg and call it a day.

I’m so thankful for my boy and the joy he brings me day to day. I’m thankful for the perspective he brings to each moment, no matter how big or small. I’m thankful for his easy smile and hilarity. I’m thankful that when I look at him I see bits and pieces of his father.

It was definitely a good day and I can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings.

