I really dislike it when Brooks’s birthday rolls around and I find myself so far away from him. It’s hard not to feel a bit sad that he’s spending his special day away from the ones who love him and cherish him and miss him. This isn’t the first birthday we’ve missed together, and it certainly may not be the last. Either way, I am so thankful that as another year passed, we are all healthy and safe and well, and at the end of the day that’s all that counts. We’ll tuck away this day, and save the celebration for later.

 

Cipe,

I am so thankful that today I was able to spend a good bit of time on the phone with you. It was wonderful hearing your voice. And the whole time we spoke, I really wanted to tell you the bazillion ways in which I love you, and so much more. Sometimes, those conversations are hard. They make me tear up, bringing to the forefront all those emotions I so neatly tuck away when your gone. The reality of the separation sometimes is too much.

So, Cipe, if I could, tell you, without crying and mumbling, sniffling, which is not attractive in the least, and then feeling bad because I know how much you want to make it better for me but can’t, I would tell you the following:

On this, your 29th birthday, I want you to know that I love you beyond measure. I am so thankful for that moment in high school when I looked at you and realized that you were the one, but more importantly, that you felt the same way. I want to celebrate the man that you are, the amazing husband and father, the guy who has both Brooks and I vying for one on one attention from you, the one we dote on, and admire, and wish to spend time with more than anyone else on this Earth.

If I could I would wish for the most perfect day for you, a day surrounded by family and loved ones, a room filled with laughter and love, decorations and too much cake.

I can’t imagine what the next 29 years will bring, but I know you’ll still take my breath away. You’ll still be the one I long for, the one I dream of, my knight in shining armor :).

Happy birthday, Cipe!

 

