We were so exhausted from all the fun yesterday that we really and truly declared it a Do Nothing Day. Sometime between cleaning the house and playing video games with The Boy I took a tiny cat nap. It was good. I’m just saying.

And even Daddy Brooks, when he called, sounded a little surprised to hear that we were in fact home. It’s nice to curl up on the couch, with the phone nestled in my hands, while we chat via Skype. There is something about seeing someone you love, even through a camera, that somehow makes the distance seem a little less relevant.

But I digress.

We did manage to rouse ourselves from our self induced lazy day to make it out to Killeen’s Movies in the Park event. They were slated to show Despicable Me tonight and although we’ve seen the movie several times it still makes us chuckle and chortle. And on top of that, for those who have not experienced a movie in the open air, a picnic blanket beneath you, a huge blow up screen in front of you, it’s just plain fun. And the sense of community that comes along with it, it’s hard to skip out on.

Brooksy and I love making it out for the movie nights. This year they are flip flopping their schedule, with one week being a movie night and the next being a concert. We have never made it out to a concert. I feel bad about that because I know how much Brooks and I would enjoy it. I’ll have to put it on my list of things to get done this summer.

For those in the immediate area I’d encourage you to attend. I can’t imagine you won’t have a good time. We always pack a small cooler with drinks and homemade snacks or even a late dinner. We also bring plenty of bug spray, a picnic blanket, and small games to play with while we wait for it to get sufficiently dark for the movie to begin. I promise, you’ll probably run into a few people you know! We always do, and it’s nice to catch up with someone you haven’t seen in a while. For those wondering, you can also bring lawn chairs. Most people seem to prefer those to blankets. Because the seating is on a hill you’ll be able to see the screen regardless of which route you take in that regard.

Here’s the schedule for the months of June and July:  http://www.ci.killeen.tx.us/index.php?section=28

Hopefully we’ll see some of you there soon!!!

