Archives for the day of: July 3, 2011

It’s hard for me to be sick when Brooks isn’t around.  For one, I have no one to whine to or complain to; bemoaning my current state is pointless and that’s one of the perks, in my book, of being sick. And secondly, I have no one to help parent Little B when I’m sick. Thankfully, Little B is quite independent and dotes on me, so although I can’t take care of him he does pretty well taking care of himself. It always leaves me feeling like a crummy Mommy though, when the tables are turned and Little B is the one bringing me ice or vitamins/ medicine, taking my temperature and reminding me to take plenty of fluids.

The crummiest part is that we were planning a day at BLORA followed by movies on post. I’ve spent most of the day on the couch, not that I wanted to. Big Brooks has a point though, if I’m not feeling well tomorrow because I pushed myself today then no Fourth of July for us. And that would be sad all around. As much as I dislike a sick day because of my lack of interaction with My Boy, two concurrent days would be rather depressing.

Here’s to hoping all the C and garlic and bed rest sees me feeling all kinds of well tomorrow.

I had envisioned driving to Austin to check out the Bob Bullock State Museum as well as the Children’s Museum; but our basketball practice got switched around and by the time we ended practice we would never have made it on time for either place.

So, thinking quick on my feet I thought it would be a nice treat to take the kiddos to the Killeen Water Park after B’s practice, since both facilities are next to each other.

After an awesome game (see pics below):

 

And a great bball practice (more pics below):

We enjoyed a long afternoon at the Killeen Water Park (no pics below). The kiddos had a blast and hunger, not sheer exhaustion, won them over. My poor foot needs to be iced and elevated but I’m happy the kiddos had such a great time. Are they exhausted? Hardly. I only wish I had their energy!