It really didn’t make sense for me to schedule an appointment so early today when I knew that we would be arriving home late from the Camp Better America concert in Waco the night previous. But I can’t say I always think best when I’m not feeling my best.

Waking up the kiddos was not as bad as I’d imagined it, though we just barely made it to my appointment on time. I foresaw a day of us spending the day lounging in our PJ’s, lamenting our lack of sleep, and being tired slightly, and slow, mostly. But of course, kids are resilient, aren’t they. I mean really… they don’t need much sleep. They seem to bounce back from the lack of sleep as if it were merely an afterthought. This old momma, though, she keenly remembered the few hours of sleep she’d logged in the night before, and spent most of the day longing for bedtime, if not her bed in general. True story.

Thankfully, Brooksy can be low key as well as hyperactive. He’s happy in either mood, really.   And it’s that flexibility and ability to adapt to each day that makes me want to hug him tighter and leaves me in awe that’s he’s all mine. Well, mine and Brooks’s, but you get the gist.

So although he really, really wanted to go for a bike ride in the 110 degree heat (and that sure sounded lovely following my little chest pain episode this week (that’s me being sarcastic)), Brooksy was content to spend a day indoors with his dear Mama.

We did a fair amount of talking (not a rare occurrence in the his household), played a few games of Life (who can’t do that in multiples?!), built things with this new toy of Brooks’s, watched Animal Planet, and then got involved in some serious Quantum Leap viewing. I heart Netflix. I’m just saying. Brooks just loved the idea of being able to float around through time, and got hooked on the series. I can’t say I blame him. It used to be one of my favorite shows. A bit nerdy? Mayhaps, but I wouldn’t have it any other way 🙂

So although I was ready to yell “Mercy!”from the moment I woke up this morning it ended up being a day less tortuous than I had imagined.

And today brought us one day closer to Brooks coming home, so I can’t say it wasn’t filled with merry homecoming thoughts. Soon, very very soon!

