I’m a planner. That’s not always the easiest trait to fit into a military lifestyle, though it sure comes in handy. The first few years of marriage it was hard on me not being able to plan ahead: were we moving, was he deploying again, when would leave be granted again? The list goes on and on and on.

Overtime you have to shed that NEED to know everything ahead of time and just go with the flow. It makes for a much happier me and together we all accept the last minute changes more readily.

Planning is imperative, too, though. You have to plan ahead for the unexpected by planning around the possibility of absences, last minute changes, and always the needs of the Army. I’ve found that not relying on Brooks being here actually makes me stress less because it’s always a bonus when he’s here, and if he’s not then I’m ready to roll with it anyway.

And planning always makes for a much smoother day. Our day to day schedule runs like a well oiled machine.

Today that well oiled machine gave me a run for my money. The Boy decided to have a complaining spirit all morning. It was annoying, I won’t lie. I found myself walking away and taking long deep breaths after talking to him about his attitude and heart didn’t produce results. Homeschooling took much, much longer than it needed to. We were still homeschooling well after the public school kids got home. That’s unheard of around here.

I didn’t plan for that. I planned for outside play and art and games. And my own schoolwork. But at the end of the day I’d rather spend a day working through Brooks’s misbehavior than sweeping it under the rug or making excuses for why he chose to do what he did. At the end of the day his character, the man he will some day be, is so incredibly important to me and I try to keep that at the forefront of what we do.

And that would have been fine except that all day poor Brooks was trying to call so we could speak and either his internet or my phone weren’t cooperating. Just hearing the frustration in his voice, and knowing I couldn’t fix it, well, that was hard.

So, this is where I choose to keep things in perspective.

The Boy made bad choices and I chose to deal with them and we spent the whole morning working through it. I’m thankful that we had the time to deal with his misbehavior, that we dealt with it, and that he learned something from the whole situation. I’m thankful I’m homeschooling him and that I was able to catch that instead of being oblivious to his attitude had he displayed that at school. And, although I had fun things planned for today and was bummed we never got to them, at least tomorrow I won’t have to research new activities to do with my kiddo. I’m thankful for that.

Although I didn’t get to my homework, the day is not over, in any way, shape or form. I’ll get done what I can and I’ll be grateful that I got so much done yesterday. It is only Tuesday.

Brooks’s situation is a little bit harder to keep in perspective but only because I find myself grieving, if you will, over the fact that I could tell how badly he wanted to speak to us. I’m a fixer, as well as a planner, so being unable to fix something like this bothers me just a tad. But I’m thankful that I was able to speak to him, if only for tiny bits of time. I’m thankful he’s got internet and the capability to usually, most of the time, communicate with us reliably and without issues. I’m thankful for a beau who is so involved in our day to day, even when he’s so far away. Who tells us in all that he does how much he loves us and cherishes us and longs to be with us. Tomorrow is another day.

Life is good. I’m so thankful for our blessings.

When I feel myself stumbling, I surely feel God’s hand upon me. I see the way He places people in my path who say just the right things, who encourage and uplift and love on us.

Life remains sweet, regardless of the circumstances.

