The Boy and I had a pretty productive, busy, and fun Wednesday. Don’t mind us. We’re trying to get quickly from here to there… there being the day we get to drive over to the 1st CAV Parade Field to pick up our biggest Brooks. Plus, we were stuck at home since our water heater broke again. Little B loves days at home. He loves our outings but he’d be just as happy staying home and playing here. I think, in fact, that sometimes he prefers it.

So today after homeschooling we went outside to practice basketball. B is super excited that Daddy Brooks is coming home soon because Mom just can’t hang much these days. Throwing the football around ends up being chasing the football. Playing catch has to occur at a pretty close distance. I could keep on going but it’s rather depressing. The common denominator here is myself. I can’t throw far and I can’t really catch that football, and other sportsy related things.

I can’t figure out so much if it’s just me not being able to hang because I get all out of breath and feel like I’m going to pass out or if it’s just because B’s getting bigger and more adept at sportsy things and then the former thing I mentioned comes into play? So maybe it’s both? Gosh, I dunno. But I am surely glad D.Brooks is almost home, figuratively speaking. I say soon, some may say not soon enough. It’s a half full, half empty kind of deal.

But I digress.

After some hoops play we came inside to play with some clay. I went out and got some real clay at the Hobby Lobby the other day because the homemade clay I made kind of puffed up and we weren’t pleased with how it ended. So B remade his fish tealight, which we are hoping to paint tomorrow. Yay. And he also made a bird, which I am super excited because I love birds and I”m kind of hoping he’ll say I can keep it. Forever.

After a board game and a movie I also pulled out this activity for B: http://littlepageturners.blogspot.com/2011/11/colorful-leaf-printing.html

It’s a simple tree template that the child can cover with finger print “”leaves.” I love having B create something with his fingerprints. I’m a bit OCD about cleaning so it’s not often I see my kiddos finger prints anywhere. They tend to be quickly cleaned away. But there’s something about your kid’s fingerprints that calls for some type of permanency, right? Or is it just me? It just seems that they should be recorded, saved, something from time to time.

One of my favorite fingerprint pieces we ever did was a simple fingerprint reindeer ornament B made a few Christmases ago. I love, love, love it. So this was kind of up there for me.

Here is the template for the tree: http://styleunveiled.com/wedding-fingerprint-tree

And B got to painting. He had a lot of fun with this and I loved watching him create. I love that he made it his own.

So all in alll, a stellar day. I can’t complain. Life is good, and my semester is almost over, and my son has made me laugh so much my abdominal muscles hurt, and my beau is going to be home so soon that it would no longer be depressing to count days. Life is too good!

I am thankful for all of it, even the bumps in the road.

