You all may not believe this, but truly and honestly, my only regret in not packing up my bambino and sending him off to school is all those cutesy, kitschy little art projects school age children bring home stuffed in their backpacks, wrinkled to no end, and missing pieces. That may sound odd, seeing as how we do art here every day, but the thing is, we don’t typically create those cutesy little things ourselves.

That’s for a few reasons, mainly that there’s really no art in a lot of that, and not a whole lot of creativity. But boy is it CUTE! And I’m a mom so I’m a sucker for all that handprint, glue together craft kits.

My boy, on the other hand, doesn’t care so much for those types of projects. Typically he looks at me kind of funny. He does this thing where he lowers his head just so, looks at me out of the corner of his eye, and you can just see him thinking that he really doesn’t want to, but he wants to amuse me so he’s going to grin and bear it. And instantaneously, I lower my head at him, just so, look at him out of the corner of my eye, and you can just hear me think, “That’s right.”

So when big holidays roll around, you know, Valentine’s Day, Mother’s Day, Fourth of July, etc, I typically scour the internet for the cutesy little projects that I just envision the school teachers completing with their students. Don’t get me started on home made ornaments. Brooksy usually makes me about ten of those each year. I’ll have enough to cover a whole tree in a few years. True story.

So, when I ran across this ridiculously cute Thanksgiving Day project I about flipped. Handprints! Check! Cute little turkeys! Checkity Check Check!

Here is the link, because it’s just too darn cute! http://floortjetekent.blogspot.com/2011/03/nieuws-uit-de-kleuterklas.html

Little B actually had fun with this one. Painting his hands was a hoot, because he kept giggling. And then he said he wanted his turkeys to be proud. And he showed me how his turkeys would prance around their yard and show all the other turkeys how grand they were. He had me in stitches.

When The Boy was done I wasted no time in sticking that sucker on my fridge, wet paint and all. Tomorrow I’ll bring it down just long enough for Little B to pen his name on the back, along with the date. That makes this Momma incredibly happy. It’s the little things!

