A new year.

A whole new year, stretched in front of us.

And the best part is, and this may sound strange, that I have no clue what this year will bring.

Not entirely so, anyway.

Last year, at this exact time, I was preparing, mentally, emotionally, for Brooks’s deployment. I was wrapping my mind around a whole year stretching ahead of us, apart.

And this upcoming year I have no clue where it will take us, what will happen, where we’ll be. And I relish in that unknown. Because we have a huge possibility of spending most of the year together, my little family and I. And Little Brooks turns nine this year. And I might graduate with my bachelor’s. And who knows what else will happen along the way.

What I do know is that whatever comes this year, in the next few days or weeks or months, we’ll be able to face it, because we’ve faced some tough stuff already and come out stronger, regardless of and in spite of and because of. That’s not all bad. There’s a lot of good in there.

Life has a way of shaping us along the way. And depending on how we perceive it, it just might be exactly what we needed.

Happy New Year, everyone!

May the following year be the best one yet. May you be surrounded by loved ones as you journey through another year!

