I spend quite a bit of time wrapped up in homeschooling. From planning and implementing lessons, to researching topics and curriculum… I could go on and on. It’s a lot of work, but I love it. And at the end of the day, I know that what Brooks is taking away from our daily lessons is far more than what he’d be able to gleam from his public school. And, of course, I love spending loads of time with  my smallest Brooks. We enjoy each other’s company immensely and i know what when our time together ends, ie. when I get a job, we’ll be missing each other something fierce.

While cooking a fast pasta dish for dinner, which still took about thirty minutes, it hit me that all good things in life. all things worth working hard for, worth fighting for, all those things really do take a great deal of time and effort.

Even before we knew Little B would be ours, even before then, I loved him fiercely. Which sounds corny and sappy and crazy, but it’s true. I can’t say the same about my biggest Brooks, because that love is something else entirely. And when we knew he was going to be joining our wee little family, well, I dove right into motherhood. I pored over books, did research on the internet, talked to others… I was preparing for a good thing. And even with him here, it’s still loads of work. It’s still a work in progress. I love my Little B but he’s a work in progress. And I’m loving each moment of mothering him.

I’m excited to see what kind of man he becomes, what kind of father, some day. And I’ll keep mothering him and guiding him until he’s off on his own. It’s crazy to think that he’ll be 18 in less than ten years. Time flies. Much too quickly.

Weird to say, with five long deployments under our belt, but it’s all relative.

And tomorrow is another day.

