I didn’t mind waking up in the middle of the night to the crazy storm outside. One of my favorite things to do with my little man is to turn off all the lights, pull the blinds on all the windows in the living room, and watch the amazingness that is a lightning storm. Of course, I wasn’t about to wake Little B last night, he was out pretty cold. I tried. But then, after falling back asleep waking up was brutal. And as went about my morning chores, The Boy immersed in free play, I became super tempted to call a No-Rule Day. Which, by the way, we haven’t had for a while. Which means it might be time to call one soon. But with Brooks home it’s harder to do that. Because he’s working and I feel like the work week schedule is kind of sacred. So after a long morning of lounging in our PJ’s we began homeschool after lunch.

Yes. Homeschoolers. In PJ’s. Starting school after lunch. πŸ™‚

I’m so proud of my Little Man and how hard he works at school. Seven years into homeschooling him and I’m finally feeling like this thing is super easy: the lesson plans, the schedule, the way we each have parts we play to keep the day running smoothly.

We basically had a flip flop day.

After school Big Brooks took The Boy outside to work on his shooting, all under the careful guise of Mr. Marley, who stood at the window whinning because he couldn’t play. Meanwhile I cooked up a mean dinner, whinning in my head because I couldn’t play. πŸ™‚

After some more free play, The Boy and I tried our hand at a science experiment involving water tension and made a Brooks inspired art project: a (hopefully) waterproof boat replete with mast and paper sail. That Child loves to cut and tape and create. I love it.

So, after a crazy slow start to our day, we finished off with a bang: bedtime stories with the dogs snuggled around Little B and yummy carob walnut date brownies for D.Brooks and me.

At this point, I say goodnight πŸ˜‰

