This crazy cool tree had a hole from one end to the other, but brambles kept us from getting too close

 

Yesterday was supposed to be a day to kick back and relax. Quite honestly, we’d all had a fun, but busy week and a day to lounge around after playing in the snow into the wee hours the night before sounded like pure bliss. The boys had slept in and I had been pretty productive with my schoolwork. After relaxing and playing Minecraft with B I wanted to get out. But even more so, the snow outside had only partially melted. The woods behind the house were calling to me and I just couldn’t resist getting The Boy all bundled up, the dogs leashed, and DBrooks on board for a quick hike and adventure before the sun set.

So although we’d had a fantabulous day relaxing and enjoying each others company we set out on an impromptu hike.

Little B was all smiles and ubber excited to go. How could he not be? We’ve been hiking since he was an itty bitty thing and the outdoors always has treasures to find and explore. And if all else fails, rocks or sticks with which to play, dig in the mud or dirt, and nooks and crannies to explore.

Little B and Princess Pea

Marley was just as excited, though Nya seemed perturbed most of the time. I think the cold wet snow was not to her liking, unless she was licking it.

Crazy puppy

Sure enough it wasn’t long before we found some new things to look at. Most of the leaves have fallen off the trees (quite different from Central Texas) so we could see far ahead of us, although when we’d explored this particular area when we moved here the woods were dense with foliage and birds. Trekking through the snow allowed us to see animal tracks that we may have missed otherwise.

Animal Tracks Log

The boys quickly found sticks with which to prod things. We even found a small section of a stream partially frozen that BB wanted to jump on (really?!) and which I had to say no to. It feels good to say no sometimes. I’m just saying.

Itty Bitty Bird Tracks

We had already decided that before we headed in we’d shoot the BB gun. I’m a terrible shot and Little B was a great teacher. After a quick tip from The Boy my shots were hitting the target (lately, he’s begun imparting small tidbits of wisdom, and hence, I find myself being the student, not so much the teacher…very cool, if you ask me!).

Our target? A partially filled disposable water bottle suspended from a tree in the backyard that Big Brooks hung after climbing up a tree.

A little BB gun play before dinner

To end the night, warm turkey chili from the crock pot and a movie. I call that a perfect day with My Boys.

