IMG_0699

I consider myself a pretty blessed girl. Not so much luck, because that it implies something else entirely. I’ll take blessed any day over lucky.

I’m married to my best friend. He makes me laugh every day. He makes my heart skip a beat when he comes home from work. And he adores me (I can see it in the way he looks at me, the way he cherishes me, the way he loves me). Who could ask for more?

IMG_0703

But then, I’m also blessed to have a little boy (who admittedly is not so little any more) who brings me innumerable amounts of joy. Parenting isn’t always easy, The Boy can be stubborn at times, but he’s sweet, and funny, and thoughtful. He keeps me laughing when his dad’s not around and more importantly we’ve forged a pretty tight bond that I’m grateful for every day. I love that he shares things with me, that he seeks me out to show me things, that he shares his loves and passions with me. I love how much fun we have together.

IMG_0707

But more so I feel incredibly blessed that we not only do we enjoy spending time together, but that we are able to. After so many deployments I rather doubt I’ll take my time with either of them for granted.

Which brings me to a week or two ago when there was a slight break in what I call the freezy weather. I am always cold here… sandals may or  may not have something to do with it. Either way the weather was so nice and I had so much homework to catch up on that leaving for the afternoon to go somewhere wasn’t really an option. So we headed for a walk around the neighborhood instead. The pictures above are of that outing. I’m playing catch up with the blog, so the pictures below are a different day.

IMG_0745

And then this past Sunday we checked out a local park after we were invited to by some of B’s friends. Another break from the cold weather had me wanting to plant something, anything. But everyone keeps saying we’ll have another freeze or something along those lines. The weather here is just as wacky as it was in Texas, a different sort of wacky, but wacky nonetheless. B played a few games of touch football with a few kiddos and then we ended up checking out one of the trails. Garland Dodd Park at Point of Rocks is fantastic. They have sports fields on one end, a huge playground, shelters for cook outs with large groups, and trails for hiking. It’s my kind of place for sure. It also has ties to Captain John Smith who apparently was in the area and mapped it. Much closer to our time in history, Clara Barton was also in that particular area during the Civil War, which was exciting to me since we had literally just done a lesson on Ms. Barton the past week.

Here are some pictures from the park:

IMG_0728 IMG_0761 IMG_0748 IMG_0797 IMG_0848 IMG_0852 IMG_0727

