When I was little we moved around, a lot. Moving around can be both fantastic and a burden, but it depends mostly on how you approach it and whether or not you approach things positively (for the most part), or anxiously/negatively. Now I’m of the belief that we can all fall into either approach, but in my experience the former is the best approach: moving can be an adventure. It can teach you things about yourself that you may not have otherwise discovered. It can make you resilient, force you to be a bit more extroverted, and teaches you things how to get along with a variety of people.

On top of all that, moving exposes you to different areas of our country (if you’re so lucky to move far enough away from your last address). If there’s one thing I’ve learned along the way is that each region of our country is vastly different, and I’m not just referring to the landscape or climate. The people are just different in different areas of our country. Some areas tend to be super friendly and welcoming to newcomers. Other areas tend to be the opposite. Some areas the people are carefree while others they tend to stick to themselves and be a bit more reserved.

And then there’s a moment when you move somewhere new when you finally feel like this place is familiar and you no longer feel so lost and confused while driving around or following someone’s verbal directions. You round a corner and realize you’ve been driving but you automatically arrived at your destination, if that makes any sense.

What I love most about moving and settling someplace new is the amount of exploring we are able to accomplish, nothing we’d be able to do without repeatedly visiting the same locale year after year, if we lived close enough. I can’t imagine that My Boy would have had the same experiences and adventures if we’d stay in York, PA (not that that area is not fantastic in it’s own right).

B is at the age where moving, for what seemed to him like the first time (since our previous move occurred at age 3), was an adventure but one which made him sad from time to time. He misses his friends in Texas something fierce. Arriving in VA the first thing he wanted to do was make friends. But it’s been a slow process. Not everyone here is military (from my experience military kids are more receptive and welcoming of the New Kid). B’s been exposed to his first experience with ready made groups that weren’t willing to accept someone new. But if he’s got one thing going for him is that he’s Brooks – fun loving, chortle inducing, kind, adventure seeking Brooks. He tends to make friends easily and I’m grateful for that because I know how much he needs his friendships with his peers.

For my part I’ve done my best to keep him busy in activities where he might meet boys his age that share similar interests (B’s at the age where that’s becoming a factor in his choosing friends – love the stages kiddos go through). He’s slowly made some close friendships and has stopped asking from time to time if he’d have anyone other than the next door neighbor, whose company he enjoys ridiculously, would attend. His invitation list has grown exponentially.

He no longer feels like the new kid.

And through it all I’ve been amazed at his resilience. His ability to introduce himself to others, to get along with them, to be kind, regardless of how receptive others have been to him. I love that I can take him to an activity where he knows no one and he’ll leave having had a blast and having met some new kids.

It’s moments like these when I’m grateful for a full calendar, my ability to juggle it all and schedule it all in, and energy to keep me going. My Boy will be ten in a few short weeks. I cry every year. I can’t help it. I love My Boy so. I loved him before I even held him in my arms.

But I’m most grateful that I have no regrets in the raising of him. No missed moments. I’ve cherished them all. I’ve made mistakes along the way, and apologized when I was wrong. It’s taught him to do the same and to realize that we are all human and sin. It’s the forgiving that important. And the desire to do better along the way.

So today as I reflect on several weeks of incredible business, I’m grateful B no longer feels like the new kid. I’m grateful for new friendships, for both him and myself. I’m grateful for these moments, and the ones before and after.

Life is good.

