Image

It was not so long ago that I was my very own worst critic. And really, when you’re your worst critic, there’s no escaping the nagging voice in your head that you just haven’t done enough, don’t measure up, fall short of wherever everyone else is.

Image

Had I read enough books to Brooks? Did we spend enough time outside? Why did I skip playgroup? Why were we both still in pjs? I mean, the list seems trivial and silly now that I think back on it, and really that’s not even the extent of The List or the magnitude to which i belittled myself, but I did.

Image

Between all the Mommy stuff and Wife stuff that I was juggling, on top of my own school work, being my worst critic was enough to induce migraines and left me drowning in self doubt.

Image

Thankfully, I’ve become much wiser to the fact that I’m a pretty amazing mom and wife. I only have to look within my own little family of three to see that. I’ve learned to be kinder to myself, to give myself kudos where they are due, to push myself in other areas where I’ve set realistic goals, and to let things slide that really don’t necessitate sweat and tears.

Image

The cool thing about moving around so much, and being part of the military community that fluctuates so much, is that I’ve met some pretty amazing moms and wives in the process. And I’ve learned that we tend to be our own worst critics. Too often we compare ourselves to others, and see where we’ve fallen short of that particular family without first seeing the amazing job we are doing within our own families. Success looks different from home to home, and that’s okay. It’s the realizing of those differences that sometimes takes time to digest.

Image

So today, on a Monday, nonetheless, as both The Boy and I found ourselves in pjs all day, I counted the success in a day well spent. We spent the better part of the day learning, reading, talking. We made stuff together, laughed often, and even debated a few points in school. It’s the small details in the day to day that leave me relishing each day as mom and wife.

