So as I write this I’m incredibly thankful, for once, that my momma is not on this continent. Especially considering that before she left on her latest missionary trip she warned me about the consequences of cleaning my contacts incorrectly… because the thing is I keep those suckers in for days. I know, it’s horrible and a bit insane and a whole lot like playing Russian Roulette with my vision. And apparently my luck ran out. Exactly a week and a half ago when I realized my eye was suffering from an infection AND was incredibly painful to boot. I’ll save you the horrid details only to say that I’m pretty blind without my contacts and I don’t own a pair of glasses. So, consequently, as a result of my gross neglect AND disobedience to my mother (yes, I’m aware I’m 32) I spent the last 10 days or so reaping the consequences of my behavior.

Getting my schoolwork done, let alone the housework and B’s schoolwork, was something else. I’m grateful to be on the mend. And yes, I’ve ordered a pair of glasses. I’d love to think it’s the end of it except that at some point my mother will call me and I’ll have to listen to her tell me she told me so…

Here are some pics of the latter end of this week:

Here is a picture of pure love:

Image

See that dad sitting there across from that beaming boy? That’s a dad who not only doesn’t understand Yu-gi-oh, nor care for it, but who plays with his son because it’s important to him. That melts my heart and makes me fall in love with my beau all over again.

Here is a picture of my smallest Brooks:

Image

leading his fellow teammates against the Grizzly Bears this weekend. As team captain he’s strong,  confident, kind, and  funny. Our Polar Bears suffered their first loss this game. At one point the kids were kind of morose and B told them to jump up and down a bit, in a very nutty, silly way. Some of the kids did it without question. Another child said, “Why?” (smart kid 🙂  B laughed and said, “Because it’s fun!” And they all bounced around together before running back onto the field to play again

And here he is again, always fun loving:

Image

Image

I’ve been so blind and in pain we haven’t been able to craft or bake or play like we typically do. So I was pretty ecstatic today to find myself feeling better. The Boy helped me make homemade pumpkin butter as well as pumpkin bars. We played Yu-gi-oh and Minecraft. Big Brooks took BB out to play bball so I could catch up on homework (he’s the best). We watched a movie and pigged out on homemade popcorn. And, my most favorite thing today? Making spider webs out of coffee filters to decorate the front windows (here is the link to that project, as always, one of my favorite go to art sites:  http://www.artfulparent.com/2011/10/spider-webs-from-coffee-filters-another-halloween-craft.html ).

Image

Image

Poor Nya… she wasn’t feeling the coffee filter necklace B made her. Though I think she looks lovely 🙂

Image

Image

You can see our bat garland outside. It’s become a yearly tradition.

Image

I couldn’t help trying to take a picture from the outside, and B met me at the window with one of the many “pilgrim” clothes he made. He had himself in stitches each time he cut one out of the coffee filters.

So although the week wasn’t exactly the most grand ever, I’m grateful my eye’s on the mend AND that I have two pretty amazing guys here at home who love me enough to dote on me and help me when I’m not feeling my best.

